Sign up with your email address to be the first to know about new products, VIP offers, blog features & more.

[mc4wp_form id="5"]

DLSU Holds 10th Lasallian Scholarum Awards to Honor Distinguished Local Media

By Posted on 2 m read

It is a fact that media in the Philippines, and in the world, has a big impact not just in informing but also in changing the lives of many people.

This is why the De La Salle University gives high regard to media entities and personalities by honoring outstanding media coverages on youth and education sectors in the Lasallian Scholarum Awards.

Now on its 10th year, the Lasallian Scholarum Awards, with this year’s theme “Voices that Matter,” aims to generate awareness and concern on the development of the country’s educational system.

Lasallian Scholarum 04
For this year’s occasion, ABS-CBN’s news reporter Atom Araullo hosted the event.

Lasallian Scholarum Awards Host Atom Araullo

This year’s winners are: Ma. Aileen Guitierez and the production team of Reel Time from News TV (Salat) for Outstanding Televised Feature Story on Youth and Education; Danny Pata of Manila Standard Today (Watch and learn) for Outstanding Published Photograph on Youth and Education; Nathalie Tomada from Philippine Star/ Starweek Magazine (On both sides of the lawfor Outstanding Published Feature Article on Youth and Education in a Nationally-circulated Publication; and Randy David from the Philippine Daily Inquirer (The care of our children) for Outstanding Published Column Article on Youth and Education. The winners from these categories each received P25, 000.00.

Lasallian Scholarum 11

Ronn Joshua C. Bautista from the UP Collegian (Blaming the victim) won the Outstanding Published Feature Article on Youth and Education in a School Organ received P15,000.00. The grand prize winner for Outstanding Feature Story on De La Salle University is Rachel C, Barawid from the Manila Bulletin (Change management) and she received P40,000.00. Shaira Panela of (Circus Science: Putting big ideas under the big top)bagged the award for Online Feature Story for Youth and Education.

[slickr-flickr tag=”lasallian” type=”gallery”]

The winners also received a glass sculpture especially designed and crafted by renowned glass sculptor, Ramon Orlina. Sponsored by the De La Salle University’s Office for Strategic Communications, the Lasallian Scholarum Awards contracted an independent media-monitoring agency for the screening of youth and education news and features. A total of 561 entries for all six categories were monitored and screened.

Lasallian Scholarum 01

Share this article

No Comments Yet.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.